

Western Dakota Energy Association Annual Membership Meeting October 11-12, 2023 Astoria Hotel & Events Center, 363 15th St W Dickinson, North Dakota

# Wednesday, October 11

- 11:00 am MDT Registration Opens
- 12:00 noon Exhibits Open
- 1:00 pm Welcome WDEA President Trudy Ruland, Mountrail County Commission – Welcome to Dickinson, Mayor Scott Decker
- 1:10 pm Oil & Gas Production Review, County-by-County results and other comments Lynn Helms
- 1:50 pm Processing and Pipeline Capacity Update Justin Kringstad, ND Pipeline Authority
- 2:15 pm Oil Industry Panel Moderator Brady Pelton, ND Petroleum Council Industry members TBD

### 3:00 p.m. – Networking Break

- 3:15 pm NDLTAP Key Efforts Bryon Fuchs, Local Technical Assistance Program Director
- 3:30 pm Transportation Panel Moderator Dana Larsen, Panel members NDLTAP Director Bryon Fuchs, Stark County Highway Supt. Al Heiser; Dunn County Highway Supt. David Lym
- 4:15 pm LoadPass Permits Expansion/Enhancements Joelle VanderLinden and Brent Bogar
- 4:30 pm EERC Portfolio of Projects John Hamling, EERC
- 5:00 8:00 p.m. Social and hors d'oeuvres, Entertainment TBD Remarks by Cal Klewin, Theodore Roosevelt Expressway Association

# Thursday, October 12

- 7:30 8:30 am Continental Breakfast, Exhibits Open
- 8:30 am Opening Remarks and Welcome WDEA President Trudy Ruland, Mountrail County Commission – Welcome to Stark County, Commission Chairman Dean Franchuk
- 8:40 am WDEA Oil Industry Impact Study Update Brent Bogar, AE2S
- 9:00 am GROW, Ukraine Worker Program Brent Sanford, ND Petroleum Council
- 9:15 am Promoting Economic Sustainability in the West Deb Nelson, Vision West
- 9:30 am Grid Reliability: Is it a crisis? PSC Commission Chairman Randy Christmann
- 9:45 am Transmission and Generation Update Claire Vigesaa, ND Transmission Authority

### 10:00 a.m. – Networking break

- 10:15 am Southwest Area Career & Technical Education Academy Director Aaron Anderson
- 10:30 am School Construction Panel, moderated by Alexander Superintendent Leslie Bieber
   Panelists Asst. Supt. Keith Harris, Dickinson; Supt. Daren Kurle, Belfield;
  Supt. Jeff Simmons, Killdeer; Rep. David Richter, Williston
- 11:15 am Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Library update Robbie Lauf, TRPL Programming & Partnerships
- 11:30 am 2023-24 Legislative Interim Activity House Majority Leader Mike Lefor, Dickinson

### 12:00 noon – Lunch

- 12:30 pm Keynote Speaker Rich Garman, ND Commerce Dept. Director, Economic Development & Finance
- 1:15 pm Lignite Research update Mike Holmes Lignite Energy Council
- 1:35 pm The EPA's War on Fossil Fuels Jonathan Fortner, LEC
- 2:00 pm Annual Business Meeting
  - Treasurer's Report
  - Bylaws Amendment
  - County/City/School Committee meetings
  - Election of Officers